Bulls’ Simmonds is Humanitarian of Year....

THE place on the web to discuss happenings in the OHL. If it's just about the WHL, QMJHL or NHL, it doesn't belong here.

Moderators: stuffedwolf, TopShelf, Magellan, noofadmin

Bulls’ Simmonds is Humanitarian of Year....

Postby KnightHawk » Tue May 06, 2014 9:41 pm

As always, THIS is the story I LOVE to read about at year's end. From ontariohockeyleague.com:

http://www.ontariohockeyleague.com/arti ... ear/162379

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that forward Scott Simmonds of the Belleville Bulls is the 2013-14 recipient of the Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy awarded annually to the OHL’s Humanitarian of the Year.

Later in the article:

A two-time nominee for this award, Simmonds played a prominent role in the club’s annual ‘Bowling with the Bulls’ event this season that raised over $10,000 for the Ontario Lung Association, and ‘Breakfast with the Bulls’ that raised $4,700 for the Quinte Children’s Foundation. In addition to his leadership with other fundraising initiatives such as ‘Pucks for Paws’ for Hillcrest Animal Hospital, and food collection at the local Santa Claus Parade, Simmonds quietly went out of his way to make a difference in the lives of Bulls fans young and old. At a community skate in association with Pathways to Independence, a community agency that assists with individuals with acquired brain injuries, Simmonds showed patience and compassion helping a young lady skate for the very first time. Furthermore, Simmonds used his Bulls’ Pro Shop gift card that all players received as a Christmas gift from the team to purchase a pair of Bulls gloves as a gift for a young fan that he had befriended.

Awesome. Just, just....plain.....awesome. Way to go, Scott! :)


2013-14 Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy Nominees:

Barrie – Liam Maaskant
Belleville – Scott Simmonds*
Erie – Justin Felker
Guelph – Ryan Horvat*
Kingston – Roland McKeown
Kitchener – Ben Fanelli*
London – Chris Tierney
Mississauga – Bryson Cianfrone
Niagara – Anthony DiFruscia
North Bay – Nick Paul
Oshawa – Will Petschenig
Ottawa – Ryan Van Stralen
Owen Sound – Kurtis Gabriel
Peterborough – Andrew D’Agostini*
Plymouth – Nick Malysa
Saginaw – Kristoff Kontos
Sarnia – Taylor Dupuis
Sault Ste. Marie – Patrick Watling
Sudbury – Connor Crisp
Windsor – Alex Fotinos

*repeat nominee

Last year's winner (Ben Fanelli) and the winner from 2 seasons ago (Andrew D'Agostini) were their respective team's nominees for the award this year, too. Congrats to all those who were nominated.

As well, BIG congrats to Scott Simmonds for winning the Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy for OHL Humanitarian of the Year! :D

User avatar
Posts: 6877
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2003 4:13 pm
Location: Ingersoll, London, Thamesford (pick one)

Bulls’ Simmonds is Humanitarian of Year....



Return to New OHL Open Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests